Image

Five Stories Through Five Days – Tesla (Day IV)

This is Day IV of the challenge called Five Days of Black&White, where you are chosen by a fellow blogger to post black&white images five days in a row and every day you are to choose another fellow blogger to continue the challenge.

I was very humbled by the fact that I received two requests for this challenge, both from bloggers I admire and respect very much, Robyn from Captivate Me and Ben from Aperature64.

Ever in a pursuit to tell a different story, I decided to share not only the photos, but also little parts of my life, my little love stories.

Tesla

Tesla1

“The scientific man does not aim at an immediate result. He does not expect that his advanced ideas will be readily taken up. His work is like that of the planter – for the future. His duty is to lay the foundation for those who are to come, and point the way.”

My admiration for the life and work of Nikola Tesla is a well-know fact to my family and friends. There is noting new left to say about the man who is celebrated by our entire planet and probably beyond. I can imagine some geek alien having a poster of Tesla on his walls or wearing a t-shirt with his image. And it would be well-deserved, indeed.

For all his character flaws and mental health problems, his brilliant mind and inventions overshadowed all. A man of solitude, light years ahead of times he lived in, he suffered from a condition well-known to the likes of him – genius mind with no practical sense. I would say he was not really a man of solitude, but rather that he was cornered into it by ignorance and incomprehension he was surrounded by.

Forgotten for too many years, my heart is warmed by the knowledge he finally found his rightly earned place in the Hall of Fame of human history.

I took these images last night, it is a book my dear friend gave me as a present for my last birthday. It was fun to play with light, while trying to photograph the book… I imagine this as my little tribute to Nikola Tesla.

“Let the future tell the truth, and evaluate each one according to his work and accomplishments. The present is theirs; the future, for which I have really worked, is mine.”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Today I nominate Robin Kent from photographybykent and I am adding a twist to this challenge. Post five days in a row b&w or color images through which you will tell a story. It doesn’t matter what the story is, just that there is a story behind every image. It can be one sentence, a dribble from your life, a fiction, a poem, long, short, interconnected through all five days or every day a new story.

This is NOT a ‘have to’ and you can choose not to play along if you’d rather not or do it later if it doesn’t fit your current schedule.. it’s completely up to you.

If you choose to play along – you post a photo for five consecutive days from when you start and each day nominate another photographer to enter the challenge. Or you can add your own twist and let this challenge grow.

Tomorrow comes another image with another love story…hope you’ll enjoy it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2 thoughts on “Five Stories Through Five Days – Tesla (Day IV)

  1. Thanks so much for your kind nomination, I am flattered that you would nominate me. Much as I would like to participate, I fear I must decline. I have an extremely packed schedule and I don’t think I would be able to devote enough time to produce a 5-part series of sufficient quality. But I am enjoying your stories and am looking forward to chapter 5. Thanks again for thinking of me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment