Atonement

lempick1

            Tamara de Lempicka – AutoPortrait (Tamara in the Green Bugatti), 1925.

Is there anyone we can turn to
Extend your hand to me
Wonders of these crazy times
Challenge us to look around and see

Emptiness is overwhelming
Dark and endless like space
When you lose that one thing
You find impossible to replace

You might never know
What’s your true worth
Closing ourselves to the world
Only makes us bitter and hurt

Will you try to save me
When I am about to crash
Or will you leave me here
Relinquish me to resolve to ash

In a safety of a hiding hole
You think no one can touch
That flickering flame of yours
Hoping it wont always hurt so much

Although the dead are owned nothing
And we’ve been all alone
Time for reckoning has come
Finally one of us shall atone

Leave a comment