Image

Around The World

November Monochrome Madness Theme is Travel, whatever that word represents to us. It took me some time and thinking to get to this image, trying to avoid all the obvious subjects. I thought about roads, railways, cars, trains planes, shoes, suitcases, tickets…so many different things, but I thought everyone would post something along those lines.

Then I spotted this little globe – pencil sharpener that I bought years ago at the flea market in Prague and thought it perfectly encompassed what travel means to me. Aside from the fact that I bought it while I was actually traveling, the globe represents my desires and dreams to visit every corner of our little planet and even beyond.

snowsfissuresandfracturesmmc3-29

Setting the stage was fun. I placed the globe on the cover of my laptop and placed a piece of a black cardboard as the background. For lightning once again I used a flashlight, suspending it above the globe and searching for the right angle. It seems this is one of my favorite techniques, I enjoy manipulating the image by playing with light.

For more intersting images representing travel, I recommend a visit to Leanne Cole’s blog Leanne Cole PHOTOGRAPHY, where every Wednesday she hosts The Monochrome Madness Challenge.

2 thoughts on “Around The World

Leave a Reply

