Image

Many Shades of Love

Recently a colleague said to me something that made me think about our perception of the world around us and our readiness to be the judge and jury in other people’s life.

“I don’t understand how people can have dogs, instead of children.”

How to respond to that? How to stop yourself from saying something rude? How to transfer your anger into sadness for the pitifull, narrow view their life offers?

Few years ago I had a conversation with my neighbour on a similar subject. We were exchanging our experiences about complete strangers insulting us on the street, saying we should walk the children, not the dogs, which by he way happens to me too often. I’ll never forget what she said to me.

“They don’t know me. They don’t know that I lost my child few years ago. They don’t know how their words carved another wound in my heart.”

Why are we so quick to judge other people’s choices, when most of the time there was no choice to make? This “dog” issue I am talking about is such a trivial thing, compared to real problems people face every day. Why is it so hard to accept and tolerate diversity? Race, gender, sexual orientation (or rather nature), religion…how dare anyone demand their way is the only way?

b&wšapica

There are many shades of love in my life. Family,  friends, places, even things…This image is another shade of love to me…It is not more, it is not less, it is just that…love.

As usual, for additional monochrome images, visit Leanne Cole’s blog Leanne Cole PHOTOGRAPHY, where every Wednesday she hosts Monochrome Madness Challenge.

6 thoughts on “Many Shades of Love

Leave a Reply

