Gallery

Adding The Story

The goal for this week’s AfterBeforeFriday was transforming a bland image into something more interesting, or how I like to say, adding the story.
Loré Dombaj ABF45 before
Again, this is an image of my neighborhood where I take long strolls with my Berta, this one is further down the river. It is a nice place where I used to spend lots of time when I was a kid. The trees offer a comfortable shade and it is perfect for having a barbecue.

I captured this image on a Saturday morning, but it turned to be rather bland. On top of everything, that pink bokeh in the middle is very distracting.
Loré Dombaj ABF45 afterI played around, searching for what I might do to improve it. The first thing was to crop it, but that didn’t work fully, so I stretched the image horizontally. I went as far as I could, without distorting the image, I think I pushed it around 30%.

To get rid of that pink distraction, I did the laziest thing I could , turned the image into b&w. I know, I am so lazy. 🙂 I added a green overlay that warmed the image, now  it looks more like sunset. In the end, I played with exposure and additional shading, just to add some more atmosphere.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

That’s it for this week’s edition of ABF, hop over to Stacy’s blog Visual Venturing for other wonderful entries.

21 thoughts on “Adding The Story

  1. I like how stretching the image has given the image a wide angle feel. The black and white conversion is an easy way to remove that distracting lens flare. If you had the time you could use a mixture of curves and masking to help correct the colour of the flare and make it more natural.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice edit Loré. I like the stretched crop, it really works here and the convert to B&W is very pleasing, especially with the green overlay. As for using the B&W to get rid of the flare, there’s nothing wrong with using the easy way, it worked and is very effective. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I had a photo I worked on tonight that had a flare and all I could think of to do was crop it out. I ended up with a square crop I didn’t like. I never thought of transforming it into b & w. I’m going back now to see what I can do. Thanks for the idea. I think ti worked perfectly here and the crop addds so much.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I like the panoramic crop, it’s neat that you stretched the image without distorting it, I never would have thought of that. The black&white with green overlay gives it an old photo feel, and with the knowledge that you used to go to this area as a kid as well, gives it a past memory essence. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Loré, I just love how you always think outside the box. First, you got us all to thinking about flipping images, and now you’ve introduced stretching! What a wonderful effect it added to this photo! As for the B&W conversion, inspired. You truly did take a “bland” before shot and turn it into something very special. I really, really do love what you have done 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

