Silver Bells

Time for another entry in Friday Fictioneers challenge, courtesy of Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. If you want to give it a try, check the info on her blog. 100 words more or less, inspired by a photo, here we go….

fire-roger-bultot

 Copyright –  Roger Bultot

“Wait for me.” she said.
But I ran across the street without a care in the world.
Her laughter followed me, silver bells rolling down the hill.
Silver bells on my heels…and still, I wouldn’t turn around.

“Wait for me.” she said.
But I kept running, chasing after my next rainbow.
True to our life’s design, she chased after me.
I should have waited for her.

A speed bump is hiding a blood stain.
As if that could make me feel better.
Standing still on the same spot, I wait for silver bells to catch up with me.
After all this time…still waiting.

39 thoughts on “Silver Bells

  1. Dear Loré,

    I’m a little baffled by the silver bells. After a couple of reads I’m guessing that it refers to her laughter. Am I warm? Too often we don’t see what we have until it’s too late.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

