Gallery

I’ve Got You In My Sight

Time for another edition of AfterBeforeFriday Forum, hosted by Stacy Fischer on her blog Visual Venturing.

I remember it was a middle of a very hot, summer day and the sun was very bright. I liked the composition and the movement, but I was never very fond of washed out colors. With my editing skills slightly improved, I decided to play again with this image.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI wanted to bring color and vibrancy to the image, so I increased saturation. My point of reference were the leaves in the background, because it was late summer and by then they usually get this dark green color. So, I decided to adjust the saturation to follow the natural tones of the greens and the earth. That gave me this beautiful shade of brown on the animals.

Again, I used Orton and I think it works well on this image. It may seem I use Orton too often, but I assure you there are images that don’t look good with the Orton effect. My last thing was to bring focus on that charging horse/mule/whatever (I have no idea?!?! :/ ) by using Focal Soften.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I think the choices I made in this edit, brought more depth and intensity. This is one of the rare times I am really happy with the final result.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If you want to see which image I’ve chosen for the March edition of ABF’s OnePhotoFocus, you can check it on Stacy’s blog Visual Venturing.

19 thoughts on “I’ve Got You In My Sight

  1. You’ve really achieved what you set out to do. Like Stacy, the movement is definitely accentuated by the out of focus. And the color saturation is a great improvement. The only negative I have is that I would have liked to have seen the mule’s face remain more in focus. Other than that, a great processing job!

    Liked by 1 person

    • When using Focal Soften, it is very limiting thing to adjust the radius to fit the image best. The problem was that the original image wasn’t very sharp and I completely forgot to sharpen it first and then apply Focal Soften. Ah, we live and learn. 🙂 Thank you for your constructive comment.

      Like

  2. I agree with everyone else that the Orton effect helped accentuate the movement, and the saturation improved the image as well. 🙂 That horse/mule/whatever looks pretty intense coming towards you, your one big eye (camera) must have been very interesting to it. 😛

    I like your image for next week’s One Photo Focus, I’ve already made my edits, I hope you like what I’ve done. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes, he definitely looks like he’s headed for you! Lovely job on this one, you have really accentuated the movement nicely and the warm colours are beautiful. 🙂
    Looking forward to seeing all the results of your OPF image (I’ve done mine already!), I love it, it just says Loré to me! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

