Imprisoned In A Dream

Roger Charles Desoutter 1923 - British  Maritime paintings - Tutt'Art@ (6)  Roger Charles Desoutter

Trapped in a safe harbor
Longing for shores to disappear
Free me from the anchor
Take me out from here

Caught in  mooring lines
I must get up for air
Too tired to find
My way out from there

Swimming for too long
Trying to stay afloat
Take me out to sea
Lift the sails on my boat

Far away from here
Back to the open sea
I need to roam
Where once I was free

Spot me in the offing
Watch me soar to the sky
Dance with the Zephyrs wind
Just let me fly

6 thoughts on “Imprisoned In A Dream

    • I must go down to the seas again, to the lonely sea and the sky,
      And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by;
      And the wheel’s kick and the wind’s song and the white sail’s shaking,
      And a grey mist on the sea’s face, and a grey dawn breaking…

      Beautiful, just beautiful. I’ve been low on my poetry, but I can feel a storm approaching, wonder what it has in stow for me.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. PS tennyson wrote Break break break on thy cold grey stones oh sea and And I would that my tongue could utter / The thoughts that arise in me” !!
    I will tell you that at an early age I was very enamoured of sailing ships and read many books about it from authors like Melville, Dana and of course R.L. Stevenson tales . then there were poems like the ancient mariner!!
    The idea of the sea in all it’s aspects is such an infinite source of our own myth and pscyche!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

