Wild Heart

  the-white-flower  Georgia O’Keeffe – Jimson Weed 2

 

There was a wild lily
Hidden in my garden
A magical thing to behold

It whispered to me
The promise of tomorrow
As my heart turned cold

It taunted and played
Turned and returned
Like a dancer on a stage

I watched and longed
To taste its freedom
Sorrowful bird in a cage

It danced through the summer
Swaying and swinging
Changing the shades over time

How I wished I could trade
My blues for all the colors
My downfall for nature’s prime

Harsh winds broke its stem
Withered petals flew away
Evanescence revealed in a defeat

Watching a wild thing disappear
Made me yearn for freedom
Sparked my wild heartbeat

4 thoughts on “Wild Heart

Leave a Reply

