Tread Lightly

Time for another entry in Friday Fictioneers challenge, courtesy of Rochelle Wissof-Fields. If you want to give it a try, check the info on her blog. 100 words more or less, inspired by a photo, here we go….

antique-desk

 Copyright – Jan Wayne Fields

Dear future Me,

Today they shut off our electricity, again. Sitting in a barely lit room, watching Mom struggling to sort through the bills, I dread going to school tomorrow. It’s hard to come up with another excuse for candle-wax marks on my homework.

If I could give you one piece of advice it would be: Don’t falter. Be hard, but don’t forget to be gentle. Fight for your place in the world, but don’t forget to be kind. Above all, don’t forget to smile. I have high hopes for you.

Me

***

Dear past Me,

I made it. Thank you.

Me

And that, my friends, is a true story.

58 thoughts on “Tread Lightly

  1. Love the dialogue with today and future.. there is a lot to be read in between the lines.. the power-failures, the candle wax. I read a world were resources are scarce (at least for some).. and there is a struggle for survival.. I like those little details.

    Like

  2. Loved the structure in this piece, perhaps more of us should take a look back and see how far we have come and whether we have ‘made it’

    Well done Lore

    Like

  3. Chris says:

    Hey, great idea. Advice for your future self.

    I always feel the other way round though; I wish the now me could advice the past me!

    Chris

    Like

  4. shanx says:

    Well written and apt. A letter to yourself and glad the future one turned the way you hoped to! There is so much I could read in through these lines. Good one 🙂

    Like

  5. I really like how you capture that adolescent sense of shame at being found out and becoming a figure of scorn, with the almost Dickensian detail of “candle-wax marks on my homework.”

    Like

      • Absolutely. But, when you’re in a classroom full of sniggering kids, anything that places you outside the accepted norms is to be avoided at all costs, I seem to remember. Of course, once you grow up and move beyond that situation you view it very differently – that’s why I thought your past me/future me structure was so effective here.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

