Image

Vertigo

When I was younger and pretending to be a “photographer”, I would wait for all the people to walk away, so I could take a perfect picture of the building, the monument, the staircase, the street….What a fool I’ve been. I guess with age comes that semi-notion of wisdom. 😀

I remember taking this photo of Vatican Museum Staircase more than a decade ago, focusing on capturing the moment with as few people as possible, instead of taking my time to take a photo from a better angle, more focused, to catch that beautiful play of light and shadow, but most of all to catch the motion of life.

When I came home, I was disappointed with the way this and many other photos turned out. But with this wonderful Monochrome Madness Challenge, I get to play with many of those photos, and what I find most amusing is how photos I think would look great in monochrome turn out nothing special, and then a last photo I picked up for that week out of sheer desperation, cause so many photos just didn’t work, turns out to be gorgeous. Well, at least in my “humble” opinion :).

snowsfissuresandfractures

Leanne Cole, a wonderful photographer from Australia, is hosting a weekly challenge on her blog Leanne Cole PHOTOGRAPHY called Monochrome Madness Challenge, where she features some monochrome photos from other photographers.

Be sure to check other amazing photos on her blog. If you want to participate, head over there and read instructions at the bottom of the post. I would like to recommend her blog to any aspiring amateur photographer, there are many helpful posts and tutorials and she is very open and friendly person.

Leave a Reply

