Motions of Living

Time for another entry in Friday Fictioneers challenge, courtesy of Rochelle Wissof-Fields. If you want to give it a try, check the info on her blog. 100 words more or less, here we go….

sheep-and-car

Copyright-Sandra Crook

Sweaty palms and trembling thighs
Where do I go from here
Wasted years and lost souls
Why did you leave, my dear

Stuck in this reciting moment
Trying to catch my breath
Struggling with familiar doubts
Longing for my old acquaintance, meth

Broken down at the side of the road
Surrounded by fearful hearts
Fleeting vainly from yesteryear
Motions combined in fits and starts

Slipping farther away
With the devil on my back
Throwing punches left and right
Not making a single crack

Glass boxes and golden cages
Prisoner of my own device
Neither here nor there
What is the ultimate price?

So, I went there…Down the poetry road…It’s funny, I never really liked poetry, but ever since I started this blog, words are successfully escaping my overcrowded mind in a form of poems. There is something in rhymes, free style, acrostic forms…to my everlasting surprise, I discovered that I simply enjoy playing with words and forms.

To write… To read… To live… To breathe…

34 thoughts on “Motions of Living

  1. Broken down at the side of the road
    Surrounded by fearful hearts

    Oh, my. There is so much emotion in these two lines (not to mention the rest of them.) makes my submission this week seem more than frivolous.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Took me a third read to get the flow for the poem. The opening line is very evocative ands gives a very visual stimuli.

    Having just read the poem a forth time, I’m beginning appreciate and connect with the more gritty underlying thoughts and emotions. Very well written, though it took me a while to realise that.

    Like

  3. The use of word as meth and crack went straight to my heart.. a real strong poem.. and nothing wrong with poetry (ever since i started to write poetry I have grown to love it.. now I even listen to poetry sometimes)

    Like

Leave a Reply

